I Feel Soulless

Generally, I am a happy person.  You may not believe that from the posts I have been making the last few days, but that’s just because I love to complain.  However, there are times that I don’t feel so happy…

How to explain it… it feels empty or isolated, like I’m watching my body from outside of myself.

I was once at a party and I was having a blast.  I had a drink in my hand, a slight buzz, and I was surrounded by tons of friends.  We were standing in the kitchen, just talking for hours until one of my friends made a joke.  Everyone laughed but I suddenly found myself forcing a laugh.  My mood had plunged into resentment and idleness.  I was disconnected from everyone around me and I felt left out, even though I was clearly in the middle of a room of my friends.  It’s a strange feeling that comes out time to time.

What is this connection that holds me in place?  Why do I feel suddenly soulless?

It’s weird because one minute I may be perfectly fine but the next, something snaps.  Usually the cure is to be alone, but sometimes that makes it worse.

My first instinct is to wonder, is this a sign of depression?  I don’t think I’m depressed and I’m fine most of the time, so it couldn’t be, right?  Or maybe I feel this way because I don’t exercise enough or eat the right foods…  I just don’t know.  It doesn’t come too often, just randomly and without warning like an unpredictable hailstorm.

I also have an extreme feeling of just not caring… but I’ll save that for later or more upbeat post.

About Anna Joleen

Hello! If you are reading this then you must be interested in something I post and I thank you for that. Feel free to connect with me!
This entry was posted in Dailies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment